Visa waiver countries

Passport holders of some countries and territories do not have to apply for a visa before they travel to New Zealand but must hold an NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority).

The following countries are visa waiver countries:
  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia (citizens only)
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong (residents with HKSAR or British National (Overseas) passports only)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia (citizens only)
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania (citizens only)
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau (Macau Special Administrative Region passports only)
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal (with the right to live permanently in Portugal)
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan (permanent residents only)
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom (must have the right to reside permanently in the United Kingdom)
  • United States of America (includes USA nationals)
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

Is your country listed in the List of Visa Waiver Countries?

You do not have to apply for a visitor visa prior to arriving in New Zealand for a visit.

You will be granted an electronic three months Visitor Visa once you have landed.

If you want to extend your stay you will have to apply for an extension of your visitor visa.

UK passport holders and Australian Citizens:

UK passport holders will be given a six months visitor visa if they have an NZeTA.

Australian citizens do not need a visa to enter New Zealand.

The Passenger Arrival Card:

Please note: On your arrival, you will be asked to complete a New Zealand Passenger Arrival Card.

You will have to declare that you are coming to New Zealand for a holiday only and that you hold an outward ticket and have enough funds available to maintain yourself during your planned stay.

If you are planning to work or study in New Zealand you will have to apply for a work or study visa.

Our advice to you:

Do not risk your visa chances for New Zealand:
Ask our Licensed Immigration Advisers if your are in doubt.

Advance Passenger Screening, APS:

Immigration New Zealand works in partnership with all major airlines across the world to ensure that only passengers who are eligible to enter New Zealand on arrival will be allowed to board an aircraft.

Our advice to you:

Please talk to our Licensed Immigration Advisers to ensure that you will be allowed to enter New Zealand. They will let you know which visa is right for your plans for New Zealand.
Read more about APS: Before you board your flight.

If your country is not listed in the List of Visa Waiver Countries:

Read more about character:

Read more Visa FAQ's:

globe icon
Which Visa is Right for You?

Read more about the Points System:

Read more about health:

Read more about Critical Workers:

Form icon
The Skill Shortage Lists

Do you want to migrate to New Zealand?

Base your move on solid grounds: Ask us for a Free Assessment first!